So I ran 4 miles on Saturday.  And for the first time in a long time, since before I got pregnant, it felt really GOOD to run.  I felt, dare I say it, almost NORMAL.  Despite it still being below freezing Saturday morning, and despite the fact that I still have not gotten consistent with my training.  I certainly didnt feel like busting out a 16-miler or anything, but those 4 miles felt pretty darn good.  Which is a really nice feeling when you’ve gotten to the point where it feels like it will NEVER feel good to run again.  The legs were OK, the lungs were OK, and I was able to actually carry on a conversation the whole time.  Now, I did move back to my normal 11:40 pace group instead of sticking with the 11:20 group.  I had sort of thought that since I was basically starting fresh that it might be a good time to move up a group.  Clearly a flawed logic.  Plus, I know everyone in the 11:40 group, so it was just more fun anyway.

Bridget is officially a roller these days.   She can get from back to tummy, but not the other way.  When she first figured this new skill out, she would always end up rolling over in her crib in the middle of the night and then wake up PISSED OFF that she was on her belly.  But the last week she’s been going right back to sleep when she gets over to her belly.  Which is awesome, because one of us doesn’t have to get up to go in and help her get back to sleep.

She also had a few otehr firsts over the weekend; Friday was her first trip to Ponaks, and Saturday was her first trip to the zoo!  Maybe kind of stupid, but it’s only really been the last month or so that I’ve been feeling more comfortable taking her places.  Not because I’m afraid of germs or whatever, but because I’m feeling better about getting somewhere and her not having a total meltdown.  That happened several times when I took her places while I was on leave, so that scared me off a bit.  But she’s turning into quite the social butterfly, so normally does pretty well.

Leave a comment