Mah editing skillz

Nems turned me onto Picnik a while back, which is an awesome online photo editing tool for those of us that are too cheap (and dont want to spend the time learning the software) to buy Photoshop.  You can use some basic editing tools on the site for free, or I think $25-ish for a one year membership that unlocks a ton more features.  I’ve been a little hesitant up until recently to try my hand at much beyond just some basic exposure correction, but after picking her brain a little bit, Nemmie got me convinced I need to get to playing around with it a bit more.  And she was right, it’s fun!

Having a good camera is all well and good, and of course editing can’t make a bad picture good.  But it can sure enhance the heck out of what I shoot.  It’s nice to be able to just turn up the volume on the color, or layer on some more effects to give it a totally different look.  I’m still figuring out how to get a decent black & white pic, who knew it could be so tough?  I always assumed you just clicked the “black & white” button, but apparently not.

Original.  Kind of blah and not really as vibrant as I’d have liked:

Julie’s totally amateur attempts at some editing:

 

Leave a Reply

