I signed up for a race, y’all

Yay!  I finally signed up for a tri!  I signed up for the OMC Women’s Tri on September 10th.  I did it as part of a team back in 2008, but I just did the swim leg then.   So I am excited to get to do the whole thing.  And the last race I did was the HyVee tri in 09, so I am long overdue!

I really like women’s only races.  They are just so much friendlier.  Which is sort of ironic when you think about it, because us ladies are generally just pretty bitchy and catty.  But there is always such a sense of camraderie at the women’s events, it’s kind of nice.  Again, kind of ironic coming from someone who is not usually into the whole touchy-feely “you can do it, girl power!” type of shit.   But it’s a nice change of pace.  I am not, however, into the group hug that they make you do before the race at the Smithville women’s tri.  *shudders*

Now I just need to get a tri suit that actually fits me.  Oh, and also one that is not from the team that I’m no longer on.  Aannnndddd, probably a training swimsuit that fits.  Or reallly just one in general, because I seem to have lost mine.  How do you lose swimsuits? 

So in deciding to finally take the plunge and get signed up for a race, I’ve been trying to figure out when I’m going to fit in the training.  And I’ve come to the conclusion that the running part at least is just going to have to happen in the evenings after Bridget goes to bed.  Not that I think Dan would be too keen on me sticking him with daddy duty every night while I go train, but even if he was, I wouldn’t want to skip out on all of that time with my girl.  So the other night I went for my first evening run, and it was actually pretty nice.  A little weird, because I’m not used to running so late.  But you do what you gotta do.  As long as I can get on the road by 8:30, I should be able to get in training runs up to about 6 miles or so with no problem on the weeknights.

Other than running, I’m going to try to head out to Shawnee Mission Park on Tuesdays after work to get in a ride and a swim.  Not sure how much other riding I’ll be able to get in, but hopefully an occasional weekend ride.  A ride or two a week will just have to do.  And the one swim a week will just have to cut it too.  Which is fine. 

To keep myself honest, I’m going to try to stay on top of logging my workouts using the Daily Mile.  There’s a widget you can put on your blog, and I’m currently trying to figure it out.  For some reason, WordPress keeps changing the html code when I save it so that it just shows up as a button, instead of the little box with your last workout info like it’s supposed to be.  I’ll figure it out!

Comments
One Response to “I signed up for a race, y’all”
  1. Lisa says:

    Larry and I have been walking every night… or run-walking, but I can’t imagine having the energy you do! Kudos!

Leave a Reply

